The Canadian Society for Chemistry is pleased to congratulate chemists Alán Aspuru-Guzik, Canada 150 Research Chair in Theoretical and Quantum Chemistry, University of Toronto and Ian Manners, Canada 150 Research Chair in Materials Science, University of Victoria.

Aspuru Guzik

Alán Aspuru-Guzik is a leading figure in the area of computational chemistry research and he will immediately establish Canada as a cutting-edge centre for research in this important topic. His chair’s presence at the University of Toronto will serve as a multidisciplinary beacon for Canadian and international graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and researchers to join his research program.

Ian Manner

Ian Manner’s work in creating tiny particles with dimensions of about 10 to 10,000 times smaller than the width of a human hair—with control over their shape, size and composition, and therefore their properties—is a major global challenge, with crucial significance for advancing many technologies. He has pioneered a new way to do so by using simple polymer molecules in controlled crystallization in a solution.

At a ceremony in Ottawa on March 29, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, revealed the list of 24 Canada 150 Research Chairs selected through a program designed to attract some of the world’s top research talent. The international researchers hail from countries such as Australia, Austria, New Zealand, the United States, the United Kingdom, and South Africa. The announcement followed a similar event held in December 2017 where the Minister introduced the first four Canada 150 Research Chairs.