The SNC-Lavalin Undergraduate Plant Design Competition deadline is June 2, 2014. Presented by the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE), the annual competition welcomes students enrolled in undergraduate chemical engineering programs at Canadian universities. As most design projects are carried out in the final year, recent graduates are also eligible to apply. Each chemical engineering department may submit one entry only. The top team receives a cash award of $1,000 and each member receives a certificate as well as a one year CSChE undergraduate membership. Second and third place team members receive certificates. Go to for details.

The date for the Canadian Society for Chemical­ Technology Annual General Meeting has been changed to May 8 at 2 p.m. in Ottawa. The AGM will include the approval by members of the new CSCT bylaws. For more details go to

Members can approve the new CIC bylaws at the Chemical Institute of Canada Annual General Meeting­, taking­ place at the Vancouver Convention Centre, Room 219, June 3, starting at 12:20 p.m.

The Canadian National Committee of International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (CNC-IUPAC) has appointed these Canadians to its divisional and standing committees, sub-committees and task groups: Ron Weir, FCIC; Russell Boyd, FCIC; Robert Audette; John Honek; Robin Hutchinson; Linda Johnston; Kew-Ho Lee; Todd Lowary; Zoltán Mester; Christopher Swyngedouw; Frank van Veggel; Gary W. van Loon; Bernard West and Michael Wieser. Established in 1993, CNC-IUPAC promotes the organization’s­ activities in Canada. The CNC-IUPAC connects­ with the Canadian community through the Canadian­ Society for Chemistry. Russell Boyd and Bernard West were elected to the IUPAC Bureau at the 2013 General Assembly in Istanbul.

The Greek America Foundation Constantine and Patricia Mavroyannis Scholarship is taking applications until May 15 for the 2014–2015 academic year. The scholarship is open to those of Greek heritage who are graduate students working on their PhD in either­ theoretical physics or physical chemistry at a North American university. The scholarship is valued at $5,000. Contact Jenny Kellogg at for more information.