The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has announced its 2017 award winners which includes chemists Zhongwei Chen and Mark Lautens. The awards will be presented during the Induction and Awards Ceremony, on November 24, 2017 at the Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel.

The RSC has also named its new Fellows (including Dennis Hall, Mario Leclerc, Stephen Loeb, Milica Radisic, Laurel Schafer, Frank Wania and Jiujun Zhang) and members of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists (including Joule Bergerson, Frank Gu and Ute Kothe).


2017 RSC Award Winners

Zhongwei Chen, University of Waterloo, Department of Chemistry

Chen is the recipient of the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry, awarded for research in the field of chemistry. Chen is an outstanding researcher in the development of electrochemical energy storage and conversion technologies.

Mark Lautens, FCIC, University of Toronto, Department of Chemistry

Lautens won the Henry Marshall Tory Medal, presented for outstanding research in a branch of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, physics, or an allied science. He is an internationally recognized organic chemist who invents chemical reactions that produce bioactive molecules of interest to the pharmaceutical industry.

The Royal Society of Canada announces 2017 award winners 


2017 New RSC Fellows

RSC Fellows are elected by their peers in recognition of outstanding scholarly, scientific and artistic achievement. This year’s list includes:

Dennis Hall, FCICUniversity of Alberta, Faculty of Science

Hall is recognized for his work on organoboronic acids, which has led to the discovery of new classes of organoboron compounds that are currently exploited as pharmaceutical agents.

Mario Leclerc, Université Laval, Département de chimie

Leclerc has made highly original contributions in the field of plastic electronics, ranging from biosensors to plastic solar cells. 

Stephen Loeb, FCIC, University of Windsor, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Loeb is a world leader in the design of molecular machines, developing a wide variety of methodologies for the preparation of mechanically interlocked molecules with novel switching mechanisms.

Milica Radisic, University of Toronto, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Radisic is a global leader in cardiac tissue engineering, building living heart tissue in the laboratory using cells and biomaterials.

Laurel Schafer, The University of British Columbia, Department of Chemistry

Schafer is recognized for her development of a new class of early transition metal catalysts for use in selective carbon-nitrogen and carbon-carbon bond-forming reactions.

Frank Wania, University of Toronto, Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences

Wania has made highly original contributions to understanding the long-range transport and accumulation of persistent organic pollutants in remote regions.

Jiujun Zhang, The University of British Columbia, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Zhang is one of the pioneers of modern fuel cell technology and a world-renown expert in electrochemical energy science and technology.

The Royal Society of Canada names 2017 new Fellows


2017 Incoming Members of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Cohorts of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists represent the emerging generation of scholarly, scientific and artistic leadership in Canada. Included in this list are:

Joule Bergerson, University of Calgary, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

Bergerson is an international leader in energy technology assessment, whose research on life cycle modelling has been adopted by both industry and policy-makers.

Frank Gu, University of Waterloo, Department of Chemical Engineering

Gu is recognized for his contributions to nanotechnology engineering as applied to targeted drug delivery, water treatment systems and targeted cancer therapy.

Ute Kothe, University of Lethbridge, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Kothe has made pioneering discoveries regarding the role of RNAs and proteins in gene expression with relevance for several diseases.

The Royal Society of Canada welcomes the 2017 members of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists