John R. Grace, FCIC, professor emeritus in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of British Columbia and former Canada Research Chair in Clean Energy Processes presented the Interamerican Confederation of Chemical Engineering (CIIQ/IACChE) James Y. Oldshue Lecture this past November in Salt Lake City, Utah. Jim Oldshue was a leader and supporter of the CIIQ/IACChE.

The Analytical Scientist has published its “Power List 2015,” which highlights the top 100 most influential people in the world of analytical science. Among those on the 2015 list are: Janusz Pawliszyn, FCIC, University of Waterloo, who was 14th on the list, and Michael Quilliam, FCIC, of the National Research Council.

Maxxam Analytics, a long-standing supporter of the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC)­, has announced the appointment of Donna Garbutt as Maxxam’s new CEO, which came into effect last Nov. 5. Garbutt takes over from Jon Hantho, who led Maxxam for the past nine years.

The 2015 Polanyi Prize Winners have been announced. Established in honour of 1986 Nobel Prize recipient John C. Polanyi, up to five annual prizes of $20,000 are awarded to outstanding researchers in the early stages of their careers who are continuing to post-doctoral studies or have recently started a faculty appointment at an Ontario university. The CIC congratulates University of Ottawa researchers and 2015 Polanyi Prize recipients Benoit Lessard of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering and Adam Shuhendler of the Department of Chemistry for their work on the new generation of bendable, smart, highly specific and tunable organic electronic sensors and the examination of therapy responses to common diseases using a personalized approach to the study of treatment.