Top Canadian chemists were honoured at the annual Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) awards ceremony on Feb. 16 at Rideau Hall in Ottawa. University of Toronto biochemist Shana Kelley and Edward H. Sargent, vice-dean of U of T’s Faculty of Science and Applied Engineering, received the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering. E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships were presented to Curtis P. Berlinguette, University of British Columbia, and Zhongwei Chen, University of Waterloo. Yasser Gidi, McGill University won the NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prize for Interdisciplinary Research.

The Engineering Institute of Canada presented their 2016 awards in Ottawa on Mar. 12. CSChE members Heather MacLean, University of Toronto and Jiujun Zhang, National Research Council, were inducted as EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada

The Government of Canada announced 305 new Canada Research Chairs in February. Chemists and chemical engineers among them include: Zhibin Z. Ye, Laurentian University, Charles Haynes, University of British Columbia, Zachary M. Hudson, University of British Columbia, Mark J. MacLachlan, University of British Columbia, Jillian Buriak, University of Alberta, Dennis Hall, FCIC, University of Alberta, Tom R. Baker, University of Ottawa, Benoit Lessard, University of Ottawa, Ya-Huei (Cathy) Chin, University of Toronto; Sophie Rousseaux, University of Toronto, Todd Hoare, McMaster University, Donald F. Weaver, FCIC, University of Toronto, Stephen Loeb, University of Windsor, Marc Amyot, Université de Montréal and Jean-Philippe Bellenger, Université de Sherbrooke.

Alice Chen of Memorial University received the Canadian Society for Chemistry 1996 Conference and Exhibition Scholarship for 2015–2016, presented by the Newfoundland and Labrador CIC Local Section.

Ping Shen, University of Alberta, received the Canadian Society for Chemistry Prize in Chemistry, presented by the Edmonton CIC Local Section.

The CSCT is pleased to acknowledge the newest certified Chemical Technologists (cCT): Katherine Reid and Ali Dasmeh.

Andrew Dicks, University of Toronto, received a 3M National Teaching Fellowship Award. The award recognizes leadership in enhancing post-secondary teaching excellence locally, nationally and often internationally as well as superlative undergraduate teaching, sustained over several years.