Harold Jennings, FCIC, was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Canada in June. Jennings developed a pediatric vaccine that is used internationally to prevent the most prevalent strain of meningitis.

A Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) Fellowshipwas awarded in June to Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering members Argyrios Margaritis, FCIC, Janusz Kozinski, MCIC, Ding-Yu Peng, FCIC, Xiaotao T. Bi, MCIC, and Pierre G. Lafleur, MCIC. Fellows of the Academy are elected by their peers to recognize distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession.

John Vlachopoulos, FCIC, professor emeritus at McMaster University, was honoured four times this year. Vlachopoulos received the Bruce Maddock Award of the Extrusion Division of the Society of Plastics Engineers at its annual conference this past April for fundamental contributions to single screw plastics extrusion. He received the SABIC Lectureship Award and presented two lectures on polymer extrusion at the University of Akron in Ohio this past May. In June, Vlachopoulos was inducted as a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering in St. John’s, NL. To top it off, a session was held in Vlachopoulos’s honour during the 7th International Conference of the Hellenic Society of Rheology in Greece in July.

Peter Tremaine, FCIC, a professor of chemistry at the University of Guelph, received the 2014 Hugh M. Huffman Award at the 69th North American Calorimetry Conference in Sante Fe, NM this past July. The award recognizes longterm contributions to thermodynamics involving calorimetry and/or thermochemistry.

Bruce Peachey, FCIC, and Christopher Yip were recognized as EIC Fellows for exceptional contributions to engineering by the EngineeringInstitute of Canada this past May. They were incorrectly identified as Honorary Fellowsin the preceding ACCN issue.