CIC is pleased to announce its slate of 2018 Fellows, who will be formally honoured at the 101st Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition to be held in Edmonton, May 27–31, 2018 or the 68th Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference to be held in Toronto, October 28–31, 2018.

CIC Fellowships are a distinctive type of membership that recognize the merits of members of the constituent societies of the CIC who have made outstanding contributions in four areas of achievement:

1) Scientific, engineering, and technical contributions;
2) CIC, CSC, CSChE, and CSCT activities;
3) Management of science, engineering, or technology;
4) Teaching, mentoring, and promotion of chemical public awareness.

The 2018 Fellows are:

Chunbao (Charles) Xu, FCIC
Western University, Department of Chemical Engineering

Charles Xu is an established researcher who has achieved international stature in biorefining, particularly in the production of bio-energy, bio-fuels, and bio-based agents from agro-forestry biomass and residues. He has taken on many roles at CSChE Conferences and during his time at Lakehead University he has worked to build a strong CSChE Student Chapter.

Glen Loppnow, FCIC
University of Alberta, Department of Chemistry

Glen R. Loppnow, a 3M National Teaching Fellow, chemistry professor and Vargo Teaching Chair at the University of Alberta, is a devoted chemistry and science educator, mentor to other faculty instructors, committed CIC volunteer, and a recognized expert in ultrafast photochemical reaction dynamics of biomolecules, particularly nucleic acids.

Nader Mahinpey, FCIC
University of Calgary, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

Nader Mahinpey is internationally known for his high-calibre carbon sequestration research program. He currently holds the university’s NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Novel CO2 Capture Technologies for Oil Sands Operations. Mahinpey has been serving as the associate editor for The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering and was also the Technical Program Co-Chair for the 65th Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference, which was held in Calgary in 2015.

Hans-Peter Loock, FCIC
Queen’s University, Department of Chemistry

Peter Loock is an internationally renowned expert on instrument development for chemical and spectroscopic analysis. He is well recognized as an outstanding mentor for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as serving the CSC in various capacities. As Director of Awards, for example, Loock has mounted an awareness campaign to address equity issues.

Stacey Wetmore, FCIC
University of Lethbridge, Department of Chemistry

As an internationally recognized computational chemist who has made a major contribution to the field of nucleic acid modelling, Stacey Wetmore holds the University of Lethbridge’s Board of Governors Research Chair and she is the university’s first CIC Fellow. She has regularly contributed to the CIC and CSC through the organization of international conferences and membership in the division executive. She has represented the Canadian chemistry community on NSERC peer evaluation committees and as an associate editor of the Canadian Journal for Chemistry.

Stephen E. Horne, FCIC
Apotex Pharmachem Inc.

In addition to serving as Vice-President, Global Scientific and Regulatory Affairs at Apotex, Stephen Horne is a well-accomplished and internationally acclaimed organic synthetic chemist and expert in organic process R&D for drug substances.  Given his experience, he was appointed in 2014 to an expert group that is developing international guidance to industry on the development and manufacture of pharmaceutical products. Horne has also mentored scores of industrial scientists and engineers in chemical process development and manufacturing.

Uttandaraman (U.T.) Sundararaj
University of Calgary

Uttandaraman Uttandaraman (U.T.) Sundararaj, professor at University of Calgary, is an accomplished researcher and teacher and has been recognized with national and international awards in both areas including the CIC Award for Chemical Education. He has published more than 200 peer-reviewed publications in multiphase polymer materials and holds several patents. He served as president of CSChE from 2016-2017 and was overall chair of the Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference held in Calgary in 2015. In addition, he has held several roles in CSChE local sections and student chapters over the past three decades