The Chemical Institute of Canada is proud to congratulate Executive Director, Dr. Josephine Tsang, on receiving the 2023 Johnson Award. The accolade was awarded to Dr. Tsang by Queen’s Alumni Calgary Branch on April 13 and recognizes lifelong contributions by Calgary-based alumni to Queen’s University, its Alumni Association (QUAA), and the Calgary community.

The award dates back to 2001 and it is named in honour of Ernie and Edna Johnson, who were known for their kindness and commitment to their alma mater. Dr. Tsang was selected for the Johnson Award due to her “warm, engaging spirit, deep commitment to the Calgary community, her outstanding contributions to Queen’s and the QUAA, and her passionate career in science.”

Dr. Tsang is a former President of the Queen’s Alumni Calgary Branch and a former member of the QUAA Board. She recently founded ChangentYYC, which empowers diverse youth to become change agents. She advises the Public Health Agency of Canada on vaccine confidence, serves on the Queen’s Faculty of Arts and Science’s Dean’s Council, and volunteers with Vivo for Healthier Generations’ Capital Campaign, Mount Royal University’s Measuring What Matters, Centre for Suicide Prevention’s Respite Care Committee, and Calgary on Purpose.

Dr. Tsang is a devoted scientist, a dedicated champion of social equity, and an eager builder of engaged communities. She has been at the helm of the CIC since 2022 and is not only a principal member of our team but also an agent of change and a pillar of the chemical sciences community. Congratulations, Josephine!