Ajay Dalai, FCIC, a Distinguished Professor in the University of Saskatchewan’s Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, is the 2020 recipient of the R. S. Jane Memorial Award. This annual distinction, inaugurated in 1960, commemorates the outstanding contributions of the late Dr. Robert Stephen Jane by honouring others who have made their own exceptional achievements in the field of chemical engineering or industrial chemistry. The award includes a scroll, $3,000 cash, and registration fee to the CSChE Conference.

Professor Dalai has held the Canada Research Chair in Bioenergy and Environmentally Friendly Chemical Processing since 2001. His work in the area of biofuels has focused on environmental pollution controls, including techniques for capturing mercury, hydrogen sulfide, or carbon dioxide through the use of activated carbon made from biomass. He has also explored aspects of renewable energy, heavy oil processing, and green and catalytic reaction engineering.

His innovative research, with its significant impact on the Canadian petroleum and bioenergy industry, has led to numerous patents for processes and catalysts. He has authored more than 500 papers in international journals and conducted more than 135 invited seminars at conferences and institutions. He has also trained more than 125 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. He is an active board member, reviewer, and guest editor for several international journals.

His other international and national distinctions include CSChE’s Bantrel Award in Design and Industrial Practice (2014), Glory of India award (2012), Award of Innovation-Saskatoon Chambers of Commerce (2011), Canadian Catalysis Lectureship Award (2011), Fulbright Fellowship (2012), DAAD fellowship (2010), Kentucky Colonel Award (2004), Syncrude Owl Award (2003), JSPS Fellowship (1999), and Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award (1999).