Conference Menu

Technical Program Co-Chairs:
Kim Baines, University of Western Ontario, Canada
Jeremy Melanson, National Research Council of Canada

The following Workshops will occur at the conference:

Angela Wilson, Michigan State University, USA
Fabienne Meyers, IUPAC, USA

This workshop will consist of three successive panel discussions lead by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry Distinguished Women in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Award awardees and on their careers, experiences, research, and leadership. The workshop will provide an opportunity for the audience to interact with leaders in chemistry and chemical engineering.

Raychelle Burks, American University, USA
Francesca Kerton, Memorial University, Canada

Social media is used in many ways by chemists, chemical companies, and chemical research institutions. We can communicate our science to the public, stay up-to-date with the chemical enterprise, discover new opportunities for collaboration, advance our careers, and much more. The ChemRAWN committee of IUPAC aims to bring chemistry into action in society worldwide in ways that benefit everyone. As ChemRAWN is an abbreviation of Chemical Research Applied to World Needs, it is critical that we engage with the widest audience and social media can provide an equitable global arena to develop and share ideas.
An effective and engaging social media practise can be tailored to fit a chemist’s use, context, and concerns. This workshop, which will use a speed networking format, aims to inform and inspire chemists to develop their own social media strategy, create a personal brand and use social media for effective science communication. Chemists with a range of backgrounds and experiences will lead platform-targeted discussions (‘dates’) on platforms including Facebook, LinkedIn, Slack, Twitter, Instagram, Basecamp, and YouTube.

Bailey Mourant, Burdock Group Consultants, USA / IYCN
Jackie O’Neil, ACS YCC
Christine Dunne, Cooley LLP, USA /ACS YCC

We propose to run a half-day, interactive workshop that will support the development of professional skills in younger researchers. A combined effort between the International Younger Chemists Network (IYCN) and members of the ACS Younger Chemists Committee, this workshop will be divided into 40-minute sessions and will feature training topics that are pre-selected by the target audience (via a survey of IYCN members). Topics could include: 1) experimental design, documentation and troubleshooting; 2) collaborating across boundaries; 3) leadership execution. Participants who attend will subsequently be guaranteed admission into a related, follow-up mixer.

Organizers of this symposium represent members of the International Younger Chemists Network and the ACS Younger Chemists Committee. They will use their respective networks and resources to devise an impactful session on the development of professional skills.

Ki-Youn Kim, Chemical Institute of Canada

One of the biggest challenges young professionals face is the transition from school to their first job. The aim of this session is to provide career development for young professions to equip them with the interpersonal skills required to succeed in the professional world. PD programming will include career workshops, panel discussions, seminars, and networking opportunities.

Jan Apotheker, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Day 1. Training of secondary school teachers/ teacher students:

Morning session: lecture about IUPAC, lecture about polymers, focussing on sustainable use of polymers, demonstration of experiments.

Afternoon session: teachers carry out experiments; teachers write protocol for their secondary school students.

Day 2. Preparation for the public event at a public place, like a shopping mall, with tv coverage/ press coverage, where the trainees of day 1 work with high school students

Day 3. Public event where the students perform experiments and act as ambassadors for chemistry