Conference Menu
Abstract Submission for IUPAC CCCE 2021 opens December 2020

Chemistry for Energy Thematic Program Co-Chairs:
Patrick Mercier, National Research Council of Canada, Canada
Michael Hoepfner, University of Utah, USA

The Chemistry for Energy theme includes the following symposia:

Elena Baranova, University of Ottawa, Canada
Angel Caravaca, CNRS, IRCELYON, France

This symposium will provide an interdisciplinary forum on Artificial photosynthesis and Energy from the Sun topics. The symposium will be focused on the latest research on production of solar fuels from solar energy and water to accomplish the efficient storage of solar energy in a chemical form. e.g., hydrogen or other gas/liquid hydrocarbon fuels. Topics of interest include but not limited to:

(1) Generation of fuels in photocatalytic or photoelectrochemical cells (PECs); (2) Sunlight driven production of bio-fuels and bio-hydrogen with enzymes and photoautotrophic microorganisms; (3) Utilization of renewable resources such as water, carbon dioxide, nitrogen or biomass for photoelectrochemical generation of fuels such as hydrogen, ammonia and hydrocarbon compounds; (4) generation of fuels with electrocatalysts; (5) Synthesis and characterization of photocatalysts or electrocatalysts; (6) Development of novel materials for solar energy conversion; and (7) simulation and modeling of materials, devices, and systems for solar energy conversion. 

Yaser Abu-Lebdeh, National Research Council Canada
Mickaël Dollé, Université de Montréal, Canada

Development of efficient energy storage strategy is one of the key steps toward the success of the emerging electric vehicle industry (including buses, trams…) and the large-scale energy storage systems for the utilization of renewable energy sources. Current lithium-ion battery chemistry has served as one of the most important options, however, the limitations with respect to the energy/power density, cost and cycle life still need to be addressed. Flow batteries are also at the stage of commercialization, but new and more advanced chemistries are necessary to render those more efficient and cost-competitive. Similarly, improving the energy density of supercapacitors is one of the key challenges for this technology. Novel approaches encompassing new battery / supercapacitor chemistries and concepts are thus needed. This session will present state-of-the-art and innovative approaches in developing new materials and chemistries for energy storage and conversion applications as well as their end-of-life including recycling.

Samira Siahrostami, University of Calgary, Canada

The use of computational techniques has tremendously impacted materials chemistry in the last decades. A notable shift is from primarily using these approaches to understand fundamental materials properties to true predictions and design of new materials. This symposium will focus on these recent developments including new techniques such as electronic structure tuning, crystal structure prediction or high throughput approaches with an emphasis on energy related applications ranging from Li-ion batteries, porous materials, fuel cells, electrolyzers and photovoltaics.

Harvey Yarranton, University of Calgary, Canada

Many scientific challenges remain in the production, transportation, upgrading, and utilization of conventional energy sources. These resources include conventional oil and gas reservoirs, oil sands deposits, unconventional tight formations, and biomass resources. Many of these processes involve chemistry, fluid flow, and phase behaviour at the nanoscale while confined in nanosized geometries. Technical sessions for this Symposium will attract a diverse set of chemists and engineers. Example keywords/technical areas include: transport in nanoconfined geometries, characterization of complex chemistries, surface science, heterogeneous catalysis, fluid flow, phase behaviour and condensation in confined spaces, and the fundamentals of chemical processes in confined space.
Example Sessions:

1) Chemical structures of petroleum compounds and their impact of oil production and processing,
2) Interfacial phenomena in petroleum processes; Water/oil flow, separation and treatment.
3) Phase behaviour and fluid flow in unconventional shale oil and gas resources,
4) Chemistry of biomass conversion for energy production,
5) Catalyst design for petroleum refining; commodity chemical catalysis.