Sponsored by BakerRisk.

The Process Safety Management Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to process safety and loss management (PSLM).

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2022 winner of the Process Safety Management Award is:

Lianne Lefsrud


Lianne M. Lefsrud, Ph.D., P.Eng.
University of Alberta
Twitter logo

Dr. Lianne Lefsrud, P.Eng. is the Risk, Innovation and Sustainability Chair (RISC) and Associate Professor, Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta. Her research asks: How can risk management systems be enhanced so organizations are better equipped to recognize, understand, and respond to unforeseen events and manage the risks? For this, she uses process safety, risk, and human factors approaches from high-reliability industries (like petrochemical) and leverages these into other industries (like mining, construction, railroading, geothermal, and energy generation and distribution). Over the past seven years, as a PI or co-PI, she has received over $5.3 million in research funding and supervised 61 PDFs, PhDs, Masters, and undergrad students – many of whom have won awards and scholarships including Fulbright and Aga Khan. She has received 20+ international, national, provincial, and university awards for her research. Professionally, her career spans two decades with senior roles in industry, consulting, and regulation. Before joining UofA, she was with the Erb Institute of Global Sustainable Enterprise at the University of Michigan. She obtained her PhD in Strategic Management and Organization, MSc in Environmental Engineering and Sociology, and BSc in Civil Engineering.  For more, see https://scholar.google.ca/citations?user=5OUTlEQAAAAJ&hl=en and www.liannelefsrud.com. 

Google Scholar

Past Winners


Adrian Pierorazio, MCIC

Senior Director, Canada East; Jensen Hughes
Society: CSChE

Srikanth Mangalam, MCIC

Public Risk Management (PRISM) Institute
Society: CSChE

Marcello Oliverio

Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
Society: CSChE

Michael Reid McPhail

Canadian Natural Resources Limited (CNRL)
Society: CSChE

Paul Amyotte, FCIC

Dalhousie University
Society: CSChE

Richard Piette

Suncor Energy Inc.
Society: CSChE

David Guss

Society: CSChE

Faisal Khan

Memorial University of Newfoundland
Society: CSChE

Graeme Norval, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE