Sponsored by Dr. Jesse Zhu and his sister Yan Zhu

The CSChE Bao and Zhu Innovation Award is presented to an individual, who has not reached the age of 40, for a distinguished contribution to the field of chemical engineering while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2023 winner of the CSChE Innovation Award is:

Jinguang Hu

University of Calgary

Dr. Jinguang Hu is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at the University of Calgary, Canada. He leads “Biomass & Biorefinery Research Lab” at the University of Calgary. His current research is supported by the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF) and focuses on biomass valorization, sustainable energy, bioinspired materials/systems, and protein engineering for Energy, Environmental and Biomedical application. He has published over 200 papers including top journals such as Energy Environ Sci, J Am Chem Soc, Angew Chem, ACS Catal, Adv Energy Mater, Adv Funct Mater, Appl Catal B, Chem Catal, Chem Eng J, Green Chem etc. He is the External Advisory Board member of the Canada Biomass Energy Network, a member of the “China-Canada Joint Centre for BioEnergy”, a Research Fellow of Grizzly Bear Institute of Canada (GBIC), a recipient of “Schulich Early Research Excellent Award” and “S.C. Trindade Award”. He currently serves as Editorial Board Members for Chemical Synthesis, Bioresources and Bioprocessing, Frontiers of Chemical Science & Engineering Resource Chemicals and Materials.


Past Winners


Mohammad Arjmand, MCIC

The University of British Columbia - Okanagan Campus
Society: CSChE

Benoit H. Lessard, MCIC

University of Ottawa
Society: CSChE

Gisele Azimi, MCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Pedram Fatehi, MCIC

Lakehead University
Society: CSChE

Hongbo Zeng

University of Alberta
Society: CSChE

Alison McGuigan

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Nathalie Tufenkji

McGill University
Society: CSChE

Milica Radisic

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Krishna Mahadevan

University of Toronto
Society: CSChE

Santiago Faucher

Hatch Ltd. and McMaster University
Society: CSChE