Sponsored by the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta, Suncor Energy Foundation and Shell Canada Limited

The D. G. Fisher Award is presented to an individual who has made major contributions in the field of systems and control engineering while a resident of Canada.

The nomination deadline for this award has been extended to February 28, 2021.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners 


The 2020 winner of the D. G. Fisher Award is:


Bhushan Gopaluni, MCIC
University of British Columbia

Bhushan Gopaluni is a professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering and an Associate Dean for Education and Professional Development in the Faculty of Applied Science at the University of British Columbia. He is also an Associate Faculty member of the Institute of Applied Mathematics, the Institute for Computing, Information and Cognitive Systems, Pulp and Paper Center, and the Clean Energy Research Center. He was the Elizabeth and Leslie Gould Teaching Professor from 2014 to 2017. He is currently an associate editor for Journal of Process Control, The Journal of Franklin Institute, Results in Control and Optimization and a Guest Editor for the Process Control Special Series in The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering.

Dr. Gopaluni received a Ph.D. from the University of Alberta in 2003 and a Bachelor of Technology from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras in 1997 both in the field of chemical engineering. During his Ph.D. he received several awards that include: Province of Alberta Graduate Fellowship and Captain Thomas Farell Graduate Memorial Scholarship. From 2003 to 2005 he worked as an engineering consultant at Matrikon Inc. (now Honeywell Process Solutions) during which he had designed and commissioned multivariable controllers in British Columbia’s pulp and paper industry, and had implemented numerous controller performance monitoring projects in the Oil & Gas and other chemical industries.

Dr. Gopaluni is one of the leading experts on data analytics in process industry and has authored over 150 refereed articles in reputed international Journals and conferences. He is also the recipient of the prestigious Killam Teaching Prize and the Dean’s service medal from the University of British Columbia.


Past Winners


Christopher L.E. Swartz , MCIC

McMaster University
Society: CSChE

Martin Guay, FCIC

Queen's University
Society: CSChE

Kim McAuley

Queen's University
Society: CSChE

Paul Nomikos

Society: CSChE

Peter L. Douglas

University of Waterloo
Society: CSChE

Hector Budman

University of Waterloo
Society: CSChE

Biao Huang, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CSChE