Process Safety Management Award

The Process Safety Management Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to process safety and loss management (PSLM) .

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the Process Safety Management Award is:

Michael Reid McPhail
Canadian Natural Resources Limited (CNRL)

Reid McPhail  has over 34  years of experience working in the refining, gas processing, petrochemical, pipeline and allied industries.  Industry experience includes process design and project engineering as well as plant operations process safety and loss prevention engineering with Texaco Canada Resources Limited and Syncrude Canada Limited.  Risk control experience includes senior loss prevention engineering positions within Nova Corporation and CIGNA Insurance Company.  Twelve years managing the Risk Control Consulting departments at Sedgwick & Aon Reed Stenhouse Insurance Brokerage companies.  Specialization in the fields of fire & explosion protection, process safety & process safety management, incident investigation, risk assessment involving hazard identification & quantification, facility siting and PSM Auditing.  McPhail is currently corporate advisor, Technical Safety Engineering providing process safety & fire protection engineering Technical Authority leadership within the Technical Safety Engineering Department of Canadian Natural Resources Limited. 

He achieved a BSc degree in chemistry and mathematics from Mount Allison University then a BSc degree in chemical engineering from Technical University of Nova Scotia.  McPhail is a registered professional engineer (P. Eng.) in the province of Alberta.

McPhail is a member of CSChE and has been involved with the PSMC and Process Safety Management Division, a member of AIChE and is currently Canadian Natural Resources Limited (CNRL)’s representative on the Center for Chemical Process Safety Technical Steering Committee, has been on CCPS guideline books subcommittees.  He is a member of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers and National Fire Protection Association. 

Past Winners

Paul Amyotte, FCIC
Dalhousie University

Richard Piette, Suncor Energy Inc.
, Presented by Sam Sanati, Atkins (Right)

David Guss

Faisal Khan
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Graeme Norval
University of Toronto