D. G. Fisher Award

Sponsored by the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta, Suncor Energy Foundation and Shell Canada Limited

The D. G. Fisher Award is presented to an individual who has made major contributions in the field of systems and control engineering while a resident of Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners 

The 2018 winner of the D. G. Fisher Award is:

Martin Guay, FCIC
Queen's University

Martin Guay is a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Queen's University. He received his PhD from Queen's University in 1996. Guay is senior editor for the IEEE sCSS Letters. He is deputy editor-in-chief of the Journal of Process Control and an associate editor for Automatica, The Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering and Nonlinear Analysis & Hybrid Systems. Guay was the recipient of the Syncrude Innovation Award. He also received the Premier Research Excellence Award. His research interests are in the area of nonlinear control systems including extremum-seeking control, nonlinear model predictive control, adaptive estimation and control, and geometric control.  

Past Winners

Kim McAuley
Queen's University

Paul Nomikos, INVISTA Canada
Presented by Luis Ricardez Sandos, Chair of Systems and Control Division (Right)

Peter L. Douglas, University of Waterloo
Presented by Amarjeet Bassi, FCIC, CSChE President (right)

Hector Budman
University of Waterloo

Biao Huang
University of Alberta