Award in Design and Industrial Practice

Sponsored by Ryerson University, Department of Chemical Engineering

The Award in Design and Industrial Practice is presented for innovative design or production activities accomplished in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the Award in Design and Industrial Practice is:

Ying Zheng, FCIC
University of Western Ontario

Ying Zheng is a professor with the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering at the University of Western Ontario. She has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge and technologies in the field of renewable energy, clean petrofuels and waste-to-energy/value-added products. She authored over 130 refereed publications and developed 10 patentable technologies. A couple of technologies have been transferred to industrial practice. Her contribution to chemical engineering has also been recognised by several awards and distinctions including the 2018 Applied Catalysis Award sponsored by the Royal Society of Chemistry, the 2010 Syncrude Canada Innovation Award. She also has an outstanding record of professional leadership and service and received significant recognitions. She is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and a member of the first group of the College of New Scholars of the Royal Society of Canada. She was also elected to a Fellow of IChemE (UK), Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) and the Chemical Institute of Canada.

Past Winners

David Beckman
Zeton Inc.

Biao Huang, FCIC, University of Alberta
Presented by Amarjeet Bassi, FCIC, CSChE President (right)

Ajay Dalai
University of Saskatchewan

Kelly Hawboldt
Memorial University of Newfoundland