Sponsored by the CSC Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Division of the CSC and Simon Fraser University


The Melanie O’Neill Young Investigator Award in Biological Chemistry is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to biological chemistry while working in Canada.

Deadline extended to Nov. 15, 2022

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Matthew Macauley

The 2021 winner of the Melanie O’Neill Young Investigator Award in Biological Chemistry is:

Matthew Macauley, MCIC
University of Alberta
Audrey Moores LinkedIn Twitter logo

My laboratory at the University of Alberta is developing and applying chemical, biochemical, and genetic approaches to study and modulate immune responses through a family of glycan-binding proteins called Siglecs. Rooted in a biochemical understanding of how glycans have the potential to modulate the function of glycan-binding proteins, I am leveraging my knowledge as an immunologist to further elucidate roles Siglecs in immune responses under diseased conditions. I am particularly interested in genetic links between Siglecs and human disease and modeling this in mouse models. A large aspect of this work also involves developing chemical and biochemical tools to study Siglecs. The ultimate goal of my laboratory is to better understand the immunomodulatory properties of Siglecs in order to modulate immune cells for improving human health.

Group website
Research gate

Past Winners


Roberto Chica

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Ratmir Derda

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Katherine Ryan

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC