Sponsored by Strem Chemicals part of Ascensus Specialties


The Strem Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to inorganic chemistry, demonstrating exceptional promise, while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2022 winner of the Strem Chemicals Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry is:

David E. Herbert, MCIC
University of Manitoba
Twitter logo 

Originally from North York, Ontario, Dave Herbert received a B.Sc. (Hons.) from the University of King’s College/Dalhousie University in 2004, where he worked with Prof. Neil Burford on the coordination chemistry of polyphosphorus cations. He subsequently received an MSc (University of Toronto, 2006) and PhD (University of Bristol, 2009) studying organometallic rings and polymers under the tutelage of Prof. Ian Manners. He then conducted postdoctoral work in ligand design and coordination chemistry with Prof. Oleg V. Ozerov (Texas A&M University, 2009-2011) and Prof. Theodor Agapie (California Institute of Technology, 2011-2013), supported in part by a Camille & Henry Dreyfus Environmental Chemistry Fellowship. In 2013, Dr. Herbert began his independent career as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Manitoba and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2019. He is currently a Faculty of Science Research Chair in Fundamental Science (Physical Sciences) and runs a research group trying to address challenges in sustainable synthesis, materials chemistry, and energy science using the tools of ligand design, coordination chemistry, and catalysis.


Past Winners


Laura Turculet, MCIC

Dalhousie University
Society: CSC

Joe B. Gilroy, MCIC

University of Western Ontario
Society: CSC

Tim Storr

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Eric Rivard

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Dwight Seferos

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Curtis P. Berlinguette

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Muralee Murugesu

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Paul Ragogna

Western University
Society: CSC

Mark MacLachlan

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC