Sponsored by Rio Tinto


The Rio Tinto Award is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the fields of inorganic chemistry or electrochemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Mark StradiottoThe 2021 winner of the Rio Tinto Award is:

Mark Stradiotto, MCIC
Dalhousie University
Twitter logo

Prof. Mark Stradiotto received his BSc (Hons.) in Applied Chemistry (1995) and PhD in Organometallic Chemistry (1999) from McMaster University, the latter under the supervision of Profs. Michael A. Brook and Michael J. McGlinchey. After conducting research as an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley with Prof. T. Don Tilley (1999-2001), Mark moved to the Department of Chemistry at Dalhousie University where he now holds the rank of Professor with tenure. In 2013, Mark was named the Dalhousie University Alexander McLeod Professor of Chemistry, and in 2020 he was named a Dalhousie University Arthur B. McDonald Research Chair (university equivalent to a Tier I CRC). A major focus of Mark’s research is the development of new ancillary ligands to support highly effective cross-coupling catalysts based on nickel and other more-sustainable elements.

Group Website

Past Winners


Deryn Fogg, FCIC

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

George Shimizu

University of Calgary
Society: CSC

Jillian Buriak

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz

University of Toronto at Scarborough
Society: CSC

Michael Wolf, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Steven Holdcroft

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Martin Stillman, FCIC

Western University
Society: CSC

Pierre Harvey, FCIC

Université de Sherbrooke
Society: CSC