Sponsored by Sciex


The W. A. E. McBryde Medal is presented to a young scientist working in Canada who has made a significant achievement in pure or applied analytical chemistry.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Russ Algar

The 2022 winner of the W. A. E. McBryde Medal is:

W. Russ Algar, MCIC
University of British Columbia
Twitter logo 

Russ Algar is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of British Columbia. He completed is Hon. B.Sc., M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Toronto and was a postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Bio/Molecular Science and Engineering, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory. Dr. Algar’s research program is analytical chemistry at the interface of biological, materials, and physical chemistry. It focuses on the development of luminescent materials and technology for applications in bioanalysis and imaging, with the overarching goals of creating next-generation tools, methods, and devices for molecular diagnostics in health care and for fundamental biomedical research.

Group website

Past Winners


Kagan Kerman, MCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Alexandre G. Brolo, MCIC

University of Victoria
Society: CSC

Jean-François Masson

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC

Juewen Liu

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

Zhifeng Ding

Western University
Society: CSC

Aicheng Chen

Lakehead University
Society: CSC

Hua-Zhong (Hogan) Yu

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Lars Konermann

Western University
Society: CSC

Aaron Wheeler

University of Toronto
Society: CSC