Sponsored by the CIC Materials Chemistry Division

The Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to materials chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2023 winner of the Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is:

Pavle V. Radovanovic, MCIC
University of Waterloo

Pavle Radovanovic received his Dipl. Chem. degree (B.Sc. equivalent) in Chemistry from the University of Novi Sad, Serbia, his M.Sc. degree from Georgetown University, and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Washington, Seattle. Following his graduate studies, he carried out his postdoctoral research at Harvard University. He subsequently joined the faculty at the University of Waterloo, where he is now a Full Professor in the Department of Chemistry.

Radovanovic’s research program focuses on the design, physical and chemical properties, and novel applications of multifunctional low-dimensional inorganic and hybrid materials. His research relies on a unique combination of optical, magneto-optical, and magnetic techniques, together with theoretical modelling, to investigate quantitatively the property-property correlations in nanostructured materials. This research aims to elucidate fundamental principles governing the coexistence of and interactions between different degrees of freedom, leading to possible applications in quantum technologies, photonics, and photocatalysis. His work has been recognized by a number of honours and awards, including 2019 Keith Laidler Award (CSC), Discovery Accelerator Supplement Award (NSERC), Tier 2 Canada Research Chair, Early Researcher Award (Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation), and Mobility Award (French Ministry of Foreign Affairs). He is an elected Fellow of the International Association of Advanced Materials, and was a Visiting Professor at the University of California-Berkeley.

Group website

Past Winners


Muralee Murugesu, MCIC

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Venkataraman Thangadurai, MCIC

University of Calgary
Society: CSC

Curtis P. Berlinguette

The University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Tomislav Friščić

McGill University
Society: CSC

Xueliang (Andy) Sun

Western University
Society: CSC

Jonathan Veinot

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Mark MacLachlan

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Dmitrii F. Perepichka

McGill University
Society: CSC

Federico Rosei

Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS)
Society: CSC

Alex Adronov

McMaster University
Society: CSC