Sponsored by 

This award is presented to a chemist as a mark of distinction and recognition for excellence in their work in equity, diversity and inclusion initiatives.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2024 winner of the Gilead Award for Excellence in Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion is:

Lucia Myongwon Lee, MCIC
Queen’s University
Twitter logo

Lucia is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Queen’s University. Her group focuses on developing small supramolecular building blocks containing heavy main-group elements and harnessing ability to form sigma-hole interactions for various applications in materials chemistry.

Lucia received her B.Sc. in 2011 from McMaster University (Hamilton, Canada), where she continued as a doctoral student to study organochalcogen supramolecular building blocks under the mentorship of Prof. I. Vargas-Baca. Upon completion of her Ph.D. in 2017, she joined the Matile group at the University of Geneva (Geneva, Switzerland) as a postdoctoral fellow to pursue studies on transmembrane anion transport using main-group supramolecular interactions. In 2019, she joined the Klajn and Bar-Shir groups at the Weizmann Institute of Science (Rehovot, Israel) as a Zuckerman STEM Leadership Postdoctoral Fellow. Her research work involved developing stimuli-responsive nanomaterials and MRI imaging probes.

Past Winners


Katherine Elvira

University of Victoria
Society: CSC

Hind Al-Abadleh, MCIC

Wilfrid Laurier University
Society: CSC