Sponsored by the University of Ottawa and the CSC Organic Chemistry Division

University of Ottawa

The Keith Fagnou Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to organic chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have received their Ph.D. no more than 12 years prior at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Rylan Lundgren

The 2022 winner of the Keith Fagnou Award is:

Rylan J. Lundgren, MCIC
University of Alberta


Rylan Lundgren was born in 1983 in Winnipeg, Manitoba and completed his B.Sc. in Chemistry at the University of Manitoba in 2006. As an undergraduate student, he worked in the labs of Prof. Mario Bieringer and Prof. Deryn Fogg (University of Ottawa). He pursued Ph.D. studies at Dalhousie University under the guidance of Prof. Mark Stradiotto. During this time, he developed the Dalphos family of ligands for Pd-catalyzed cross-coupling reactions and received the Canadian Society for Chemistry National Award for Graduate Work in Inorganic Chemistry in 2011. Rylan was next an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow in the labs of Prof. Gregory Fu, first at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and later at the California Institute of Technology. In 2013, Rylan began his independent career in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Alberta and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2019. His research interests focus on developing and understanding chemical reactions promoted by homogenous catalysts.

Group website

Past Winners


Graham Murphy, MCIC

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

Jean-Philip Lumb

McGill University
Society: CSC

Sylvain Canesi

Université du Québec à Montréal
Society: CSC

Mark Taylor

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Jean-François Paquin

Université Laval
Society: CSC

Derek Pratt

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC