Sponsored by the CSC Biological/Medicinal Chemistry Division, Organic Chemistry Division

The Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award (formerly the Teva Canada Limited Biological and Medicinal Chemistry (BMC) Lectureship Award) is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of biological or medicinal chemistry within the past five years of the initial nomination deadline date while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2022 winner of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award is:

Scott Prosser, MCIC
University of Toronto

Scott Prosser obtained his B.Sc. in math-physics at the University of New Brunswick in 1985 and his Ph.D. in biophysics at the University of Guelph under the supervision of James Davis. His postdoctoral studies at the University of Stuttgart with Gerd Kothe, and later at the University of San Diego under Gitte Vold, involved membrane model systems. After taking on a faculty position at Kent State University between 1997 and 2001, where he focused on bicelles and aspects of solid-state NMR, Dr. Prosser moved to the University of Toronto and joined the Chemistry Department. His work picked up on membrane peptides, bicelles, and biophysical studies, utilizing 19F NMR.  After receiving tenure, his research was directed toward the study of enzyme complexes and G Protein-Coupled Receptors (GPCRs), with the goal of understanding mechanistic and biophysical underpinnings to function. The work necessitated the application of non-traditional NMR and the development of significant molecular biology capacity. His studies provide a dynamic ensemble perspective to proteins, which is useful in explaining energetics of activation and the molecular basis of pharmacology. This work is now expanding into new, multidimensional NMR methods that incorporate the “19F” reporter, parallel biophysical and cell studies, and drug discovery initiatives.

Group Website

Past Winners


Anthony Mittermaier, MCIC

McGill University
Society: CSC

Giuseppe Melacini

McMaster University
Society: CSC

Robert Britton

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

William D. Lubell, FCIC

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC

John Paul Pezacki

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Robert Campbell

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

David M. Perrin

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

David Vocadlo

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Andrew Woolley

University of Toronto
Society: CSC