Sponsored by Paraza Pharma Inc.

Paraza Pharma Inc.

The Bernard Belleau Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of medicinal chemistry through research involving biochemical or organic chemical mechanisms.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Gonzalo Cosa

The 2022 winner of the Bernard Belleau Award is:

Gonzalo Cosa, MCIC
McGill University
Audrey Moores LinkedIn Twitter logo 

Gonzalo Cosa received his Licentiate in Chemistry from Universidad Nacional de Rio Cuarto, Argentina in 1996. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Ottawa under the direction of Tito Scaiano in 2002, working on photochemistry of NSAIDs. Following postdoctoral work on single molecule spectroscopy at the University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Cosa joined the Department of Chemistry at McGill University in 2005 under the supervision of Paul F. Barbara as Assistant Professor. In 2016 he was promoted to Professor.

Dr. Cosa’s research centers on designing, synthesizing, and using fluorescent molecular probes, as well as on developing fluorescence microscopy methods. These methods provide an unprecedented degree of detail of chemically- and biologically relevant processes with unsurpassed spatial-temporal resolution and sensitivity. His work has shed light on the mechanical workings of single macromolecules, notably including key enzymes associated with viral genome replication. It has also enabled the real-time mapping and tracking of reactive oxygen species (ROS) in living cells, providing key insights into these elusive cellular species associated with homeostasis, disease, and aging.

Group website

Past Winners


John Paul Pezacki

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Frederick G. West

The University of Alberta
Society: CSC

David Perrin

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

David Vocadlo

Simon Fraser University
Society: CSC

Jeffrey W. Keillor

University of Ottawa
Society: CSC

Patrick T. Gunning

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

Andrei K. Yudin

University of Toronto
Society: CSC

John Honek

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

William D. Lubell

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC

View the list of Past Winners.