Sponsored by the CIC Analytical Chemistry Division

The Fred Beamish Award is presented to an individual who demonstrates innovation in research in the field of analytical chemistry, where the research is anticipated to have significant potential for practical applications.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Feng Li

The 2021 winner of the Fred Beamish Award is:

Feng Li,
Brock University

Feng Li is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry, Brock University. He received his PhD (2013) in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Alberta. He joined Brock as an Assistant Professor in December 2014 and was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in July 2019. The research in Li Lab is at the interface of analytical chemistry and DNA nanotechnology, with the aim to offer better analytical tools for addressing meaningful chemical, biological and biomedical questions. A major research interest is the design and modeling of dynamic DNA devices and machines amenable for ultrasensitive bioanalysis as well as for in vitro disease diagnostics. Li has received Ontario Early Researcher Award and was selected to participate Ontario-China Young Scientist Exchange program in 2018. He was also recognized as one of the Emerging Investigators in Analytical Science by Analyst in 2016, Young Investigators in (Bio-) Analytical Chemistry by Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry in 2019, and Analytical Methods Emerging Investigators in 2019.

Group website
Research gate

Past Winners


Jennifer I-Ling Chen, MCIC

York University
Society: CSC

Russ Algar

University of British Columbia
Society: CSC

Michael Serpe

University of Alberta
Society: CSC

Janine Mauzeroll

McGill University
Society: CSC

Juewin Liu

University of Waterloo
Society: CSC

Jean-François Masson

Université de Montréal
Society: CSC