Keith Fagnou Award

Sponsored by the University of Ottawa and the Organic Chemistry Division, the Keith Fagnou Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to organic chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have received their Ph.D. no more than 12 years prior at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the Keith Fagnou Award is:

Sylvain Canesi
Université du Québec à Montréal

Sylvain Canesi is an organic chemistry professor at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). He obtained his BSc level in chemistry in 1998 at the University of Corsica. Subsequently, he moved to Lyon, France to obtain an advanced degree in chemistry from the École Superieure de Chimie, Physique et Electronique de Lyon in 2001 and went on to become a graduate student in the group of Marco A. Ciufolini. There, he did the total synthesis of (-)-Cylindricine, a natural azaspiranic marine compound, and obtained his PhD in 2004. After postdoctoral studies in the group of Pierre Deslongchamps in Sherbrooke, where he worked on the synthesis of a paclitaxel macrocyclic model. In fall 2006, Canesi accepted a faculty position at UQAM. The research interests of his laboratory focus on the development of new synthetic methods and their direct applications in total synthesis of natural products.

Past Winners

Mark Taylor
University of Toronto

Jean-François Paquin
Université Laval

Derek Pratt, University of Ottawa
Presented by Louis Barriault, Treasurer, Organic Chemistry Division (right)