Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award

The Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award (formerly the Teva Canada Limited Biological and Medicinal Chemistry (BMC) Lectureship Award) is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of biological or medicinal chemistry within the past five years of the initial nomination deadline date while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award is:

William D. Lubell, FCIC
Université de Montréal

William D. Lubell has been actively advancing the fields of medicinal chemistry and peptide science through the development of seminal methods to create and employ peptide and peptidomimetic prototypes that target and modulate biologically relevant receptors for drug discovery. Recipient of a B.A. from Columbia College in 1984 and Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 1989, where he studied under the supervision of Henry Rapoport, Lubell was a Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellow from 1990–1991 in the laboratory of Ryoji Noyori at Nagoya University, Japan, before joining the Department of Chemistry at the Université de Montréal in 1991. Co-author of >250 scientific publications, associate editor of Organic Letters since 2005, editorial board member of journals in peptide science and drug design, and innovator of intellectual property to launch the Canadian start-up companies Mperia Therapeutics and Rytvel Biotech, his honors include the Boehringer Ingelheim Young Investigator Award, the DuPont Canada Educational Aid Grant, the Danish National Bank Award, the Merck Therapeutic Research Award and in 2013 the Bernard Belleau Award for achievements in medicinal chemistry. Originator of Molecules of Life, Lubell explores experiential education techniques to teach elementary school students about molecules.

Past Winners

John Paul Pezacki
University of Ottawa

Robert Campbell
University of Alberta

David M. Perrin, University of British Columbia
, Presented by Glen Ikeda, Patent Manager, Legal Affairs, Teva Canada

David Vocadlo
Simon Fraser University

Andrew Woolley
University of Toronto