Bernard Belleau Award

Sponsored by Paraza Pharma Inc.

Paraza Pharma Inc.

The Bernard Belleau Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of medicinal chemistry through research involving biochemical or organic chemical mechanisms.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Bernard Belleau Award is:

David Perrin
University of British Columbia

David M. Perrin graduated from University of California at Berkeley.  He obtained his PhD  from University of California at Los Angeles with David Sigman and did postdoctoral work in France with Claude Helene. He has published extensively at the inteface of chemistry and biology on chemically modified DNAzymes, heterocycles for recognizing DNA, indole-crosslinked peptides and natural products, ribozymology, and PET imaging agents. He has been a professor at University of British Columbia since 2000.


Past Winners

David Vocadlo
Simon Fraser University

Jeffrey W. Keillor
University of Ottawa

Patrick T. Gunning
University of Toronto

Andrei K. Yudin, University of Toronto
Presented by Kaine Villeneuve, Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Canada) Inc. (right)

John Honek
University of Waterloo

William Lubell
Université de Montréal