Alfred Bader Award

Sponsored by the CSC Organic Chemistry Division

Organic Chemistry Division

The Alfred Bader award is presented as a mark of distinction and recognition for excellence in research in organic chemistry by a scientist who is currently working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Alfred Bader Award is:

Todd Lowary
University of Alberta

Todd Lowary received his BA in chemistry from the University of Montana and his PhD in organic chemistry under the supervision of Ole Hindsgaul at the University of Alberta. Subsequent postdoctoral appointments were with David Bundle, University of Alberta and Morten Meldal, Carlsberg Laboratory, Copenhagen, Denmark. In 1996, he started a position in the Department of Chemistry at The Ohio State University as an assistant professor and in 2002 was promoted to associate professor with tenure. He returned to the University of Alberta in 2003, where he is now the R. U. Lemieux Professor Carbohydrate Chemistry and a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair. Lowary’s research interests are in the synthesis of novel probe molecules for understanding the role of carbohydrates in biology, in particular infectious disease.  He currently serves as the scientific director of the Canadian Glycomics Network (GlycoNet), a Networks of Centres of Excellence that includes 140 research groups at 31 institutions across Canada supported by nearly $40M (2015–2020). GlycoNet connects all Canadian glycoscience researchers with a mission to identify novel solutions to unmet medical needs. 

Past Winners

Chao-Jun Li, FCIC
McGill University

Andrei K. Yudin
University of Toronto

Dennis Hall, FCIC
University of Alberta

Michael A. Kerr, Western University
Presented by Louis Barriault, Treasurer, Organic Chemistry Division (right)

Robert A. Batey
University of Toronto

B. Mario Pinto
Simon Fraser University