Jillian M. Buriak

University of Alberta

Jillian Buriak is the Canada Research Chair (CRC) of nanomaterials in the Department of Chemistry, at the University of Alberta, and group leader at the National Institute for Nanotechnology (NRC-NINT), in Edmonton.

Buriak was born and raised in the Toronto area, and graduated with an AB from Harvard University, in 1990, and her PhD from the Université Louis Pasteur, in Strasbourg France in 1995. She completed an NSERC PDF at the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California, from 1995–1997. In 1997, she started as an assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University, where she was promoted early to associate professor in 2001 (with tenure).

In 2003, she became a professor of chemistry at the University of Alberta, with a cross-appointment at NRC-NINT. Her past awards include an A. P. Sloan Fellowship, a Dreyfus Teacher Scholar, an NSF Career Award, the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, the Rutherford Medal of Chemistry from the Royal Society of Canada, fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), among others. She was on the Board of Reviewing Editors (BoRE) at Science from 2004–2008, and since 2009, has been an associate editor at ACS Nano.