Sponsored by the CIC

CIC logo

The Montréal Medal/Médaille de Montréal is presented as a mark of distinction and honour to a resident of Canada who has shown significant leadership in or has made an outstanding contribution to the profession of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

David HarppThe 2022 winner of the Montréal Medal/Médaille de Montréal  is:

David Harpp
McGill University

David N. Harpp received his A.B. degree from Middlebury College (Vermont) and his Ph.D. in 1965 from the University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill). After holding a postdoctoral position at Cornell University, he moved to McGill University in 1966 as Assistant Professor. He became Full Professor in 1975 and presently holds the Tomlinson Chair in Science Education.

His research is centered on organosulfur molecules, teaching innovations, and academic integrity issues. He has published 243 research articles including 28 on teaching. He was responsible for creating the Office for Science and Society and the COOL (COursesOnLine) system of lecture-capture at McGill in 2000. He has made nearly 600 presentations at conferences, universities, schools, and interest groups, and has received numerous local, national, and international awards for research, teaching, and science promotion. These include the following inaugural awards: The Royal Society of Canada’s McNeil Medal for the Public Awareness of Science (shared with Drs. Ariel Fenster and Joe Schwarcz), the Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Learning at McGill, and the Edward Leete Award (Organic Division, ACS) for Excellence in Teaching and Research. Finally, he has been given honorary degrees from Acadia University and the University of Guelph.

Past Winners


Alison Thomspon, MCIC

Dalhousie University
Society: CIC

Bruce Lennox, FCIC

McGill University
Society: CIC

Cathleen M. Crudden, FCIC

Queen's University
Society: CIC

Robert B. Magee

The Woodbridge Group
Society: CIC

Neil Burford, FCIC

University of Victoria
Society: CIC

Kim M. Baines, FCIC

Western University
Society: CIC

B. Mario Pinto, FCIC

Simon Fraser University
Society: CIC

Robert Prud’homme, FCIC

Université de Montréal
Society: CIC