Sponsored by the CIC

CIC logo

The CIC Medal is presented as a mark of distinction and recognition to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the science of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada, this is the CIC’s top award.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners


The 2022 winner of the CIC Medal is:

Chao-Jun Li
McGill University
Audrey Moores LinkedIn 

Dr. Li received his Ph.D. at McGill University in 1992 and conducted research as an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University from 1992-94. He then held a faculty position at Tulane University from 1994-2003. Since 2003, he has been a Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Green Chemistry and an E. B. Eddy Chair at McGill University. He also served as the Co-Chair of the Canadian Green Chemistry/Engineering Network (2008-2016), Director of CFI Center for Green Chemistry/Green Chemicals, Director of NSERC CREATE for Green Chemistry, and Co-Director of FQRNT Center for Green Chemistry/Catalysis.

Dr. Li has received numerous prestigious awards worldwide including the US NSF CAREER Award (1997), US Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award (2001), Canadian Green Chemistry/Engineering Award (2010), Killam Research Fellow (2018), and Humboldt Research Award (2021). He has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2012), the World Academy of Science (TWAS) (2016), European Academy of Sciences (2020), Royal Society of Chemistry (2007), AAAS (2012), CIC (2013), ACS (2015), and CCS (2020). His over 500 research articles on inventing new reactions for sustainable chemical synthesis have been cited widely (over 49,000 times, h-index=107). In 2007, the CSC listed Dr. Li’s work as among the 20 most important contributions to Canadian chemical research of the 20th century.


Past Winners


Molly Shoichet, MCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Jonathan Abbatt, MCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Linda Nazar, O.C.

University of Waterloo
Society: CIC

André B. Charette, FCIC

Université de Montréal
Society: CIC

Eugenia Kumacheva

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Stephen G. Withers, FCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CIC

Axel D. Becke, FCIC

Dalhousie University
Society: CIC

Douglas W. Stephan, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Mark Lautens, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC