Sponsored by the CIC Chemical Education Fund

The CIC Award for Chemistry Education is presented as a mark of recognition to a person who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to education at the post-secondary level in the field of chemistry or chemical engineering.

Deadline extended to Oct 15, 2023

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

Felix Lee

The 2023 winner of the CIC Award for Chemistry Education is:

Felix Lee, MCIC
The University of Western Ontario

Felix Lee is a passionate and learner-focussed educator and leader at The University of Western Ontario, where he has been pivotal in advancing both chemistry and science education. Felix is a teaching faculty member in the Department of Chemistry and the Director of Integrated Science, the Faculty of Science’s flagship undergraduate program in which he holds an externally funded McEwen Professorship in Integrated Science.

In Chemistry, Felix has proposed, restructured, and redesigned a wide range of courses ranging from first-year general chemistry to third-year medicinal chemistry. In Integrated Science, he has led the development of, and provided administrative leadership for, the high-impact, outcomes-driven program. In the classroom, Felix increases student engagement and learning by using evidence-based approaches and by bring chemistry to life through the use of case studies, research articles, and news stories. Felix has also served as the faculty’s Learning Development Coordinator to promote e-learning, worked on university-level degree outcomes, and published educational materials in organic chemistry.

Felix holds a B.Sc. in Biochemistry from the University of Manitoba and M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry from Dalhousie University.

Past Winners


Jaclyn J. Stewart, MCIC

University of British Columbia
Society: CIC

Alison Flynn, MCIC

University of Ottawa
Society: CIC

Nola Etkin, MCIC

University of Prince Edward Island
Society: CIC

W. Stephen McNeil

University of British Columbia at Okanagan
Society: CIC

Margaret-Ann Armour, C.M., FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CIC

Charles A. Lucy, FCIC

University of Alberta
Society: CIC

Glen R. Loppnow

University of Alberta
Society: CIC

David Stone

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Uttandaraman (U.T.) Sundararaj

University of Calgary
Society: CIC

Stanislaw Skonieczny

University of Toronto
Society: CIC