Sponsored by the Canadian Catalysis Foundation

The Catalysis Award is presented to an individual who, while residing in Canada, has made a distinguished contribution to the field of catalysis. This award is presented every two years.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2020 winner of the Catalysis Award is:

Chao-Jun Li, FCIC
McGill University

Dr. Chao-Jun Li received Ph.D. at McGill University (1992) and was a NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University (92-94). From 1994-2003, he was on the faculty at Tulane University (US) and, in 2003, returned to McGill University, where he holds the Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Green Chemistry and E. B. Eddy Chair of Chemistry.  He served as the Co-Chair of the Canadian Green Chemistry and Engineering Network (2009-2016), the Director of CFI Infrastructure for Green Chemistry and Green Chemicals, the Director of NSERC CREATE for Green Chemistry, the Co-Director of the FRQNT Center for Green Chemistry and Catalysis (CCVC), and the Associated Editor for Green Chemistry (RSC).  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC), RSC (UK), AAAS, ACS, and TWAS.  He has published >460 research articles, 7 books, and has given 450 plenary/keynote/invited lectures.  His research focuses on exploring new chemistry that complements conventional reactivity and possesses high “atom-efficiency”—with a goal towards Green Chemistry. His work has been widely cited (>43,000, h index >100) and was listed as one of the World’s Most Highly Cited Scientists by Thomson Reuters/Clarivate Analytics (2014-2017).

Past Winners


Cathleen Crudden, FCIC

Queen's University
Society: CIC

Mark Lautens, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CIC

Warren Piers, FCIC

University of Calgary
Society: CIC