Macromolecular Science and Engineering Award

Sponsored by NOVA Chemicals Corporation

Nova Chemicals

The Macromolecular Science and Engineering Award is presented to an individual who, while residing in Canada, has made a distinguished contribution to macromolecular science or engineering.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2019 winner of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering Award is:

Christopher Barrett
McGill University

Christopher Barrett studied at Queen's University, completing a BSc in chemistry and physics in 1992, and an MSc in photochemistry in 1994.  He then worked for a year at the Royal Military College of Canada and the Canadian Space Agency on fiber optics and holographic storage, and returned to Queen’s to complete a PhD in 1997 on light-responsive polymers with the late Almeria Natansohn.  Christopher then spent 2 years at MIT in materials engineering as an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow '98-'99, working on self-assembled polymers and bio-interfaces.

Barrett joined the McGill Chemistry Faculty in 2000, setting up light-responsive biopolymer labs in collaboration with McGill’s Center for Physics of Materials, School of Environment, and the Montreal Neurological Institute.  He and his 50 graduate students/PDFs have written 8 book chapters and 150 papers on Self-Assembly and Light-Harvesting Polymers, and Barrett has delivered 150 Invited Lectures on this research, and 30 more Public Outreach talks on Green Materials, Bio-Inspired Design, and Sustainable Energy.  He has been a JSPS Fellow at Tokyo Tech, a Fulbright Fellow at UCLA/Berkeley, and received awards for his research, his teaching, and his home wine and beer making.

Past Winners

Alex Adronov
McMaster University

Michael A. Brook
McMaster University

Harald D. H. Stöver
McMaster University

Julian X. X. Zhu, Université de Montréal
Presented by Bruce Lennox, FCIC, CIC Chair (right)

Derek G. Gray
McGill University

Yue Zhao
Université de Sherbrooke