Sponsored by The Canadian Society for Chemistry

This national individual award, sponsored by The Canadian Society for Chemistry, is presented to an individual working in Canada who has made significant contributions to advance green chemistry and/or engineering, including the technical, human health and environmental benefits.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners


Abdelhamid SayariThe 2022 winner of the Canadian Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Award for Green Chemistry (Individual) is:

Abdelhamid Sayari, FCIC
University of Ottawa


After receiving his MSc in Inorganic Chemistry and PhD in Heterogeneous Catalysis, Abdel Sayari joined the University of Pittsburgh as a Postdoctoral Fellow followed by NRC Canada as a Research Associate. He moved to Université Laval as Assistant Professor in Chemical Engineering in 1991 and was promoted to Full Professor in 1998. He also served as Director of the ULaval Centre de Recherche sur les Propriétés des Interfaces et la Catalyse (CERPIC). In 2001, Sayari moved to the University of Ottawa as Professor in Chemistry and Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Catalysis (2002-2015). In 2001, he established the UOttawa Centre for Catalysis Research and Innovation (CCRI) and served as its director until 2007.

For over 35 years in Canada, Sayari made outstanding contributions in research at the interface of Catalysis/Adsorption, as well as in Materials Science and Engineering, with particular emphasis on applications in environmental protection and the energy sector. Chief among his achievements is the discovery of recyclable materials for post-combustion CO2 capture.

Sayari has published extensively in top-rated Chemistry and Chemical Engineering journals. He co-authored over 260 refereed papers and 6 patents, and edited 4 books. He is one of the most highly cited chemists in Canada with an h-index of 85 and more than 25,000 citations.

Sayari organized 7 successful international meetings in Canada on Nanoporous Materials. He is Editor of Molecular Catalysis and member of the Editorial Board of Catalysis Communications.


Past Winners

Green Chemistry and Engineering Award (Individual)


Audrey Moores, MCIC

McGill University
Society: CGCEN

Laurel L. Schafer, MCIC

The University of British Columbia
Society: CGCEN

Francesca Kerton

Memorial University of Newfoundland
Society: CGCEN

Michael Cunningham, FCIC

Queen's University
Society: CGCEN

Robert Morris, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CGCEN

Roger Gaudreault

TGWT Clean Technologies Inc.
Society: CGCEN

Andrew Dicks

University of Toronto
Society: CGCEN

Douglas W. Stephan, FCIC

University of Toronto
Society: CGCEN

Flora T. T. Ng, FCIC

University of Waterloo
Society: CGCEN