IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award

Sponsored by IntelliSyn RD., the IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award (formerly the Boehringer Ingelheim Research Excellence Award) is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to medicinally relevant organic or biophysical chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have held their first professional appointment as an independent researcher for twelve years* or less at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award is:

Fraser Hof
University of Victoria

Fraser Hof was born and raised in Medicine Hat, Alta. He earned his BSc at the University of Alberta, carrying out research with David Bundle, Derrick Clive, and Neil Branda. He then moved to the Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California to study supramolecular chemistry with Julius Rebek, Jr. After obtaining his PhD at Scripps, he was a Novartis Foundation and Human Frontier Science Program post-doctoral fellow studying medicinal chemistry at the ETH with François Diederich. He took up his position at the University of Victoria in 2005, where he is currently professor and Canada Research Chair in Supramolecular and Medicinal Chemistry. Hof's research interests involve biological applications of supramolecular chemistry, medicinal chemistry, assay development, and the creation of new chemical tools to study epigenetic methylation pathways.

Past Winners

Robert A. Britton
Simon Fraser University