Canadian Society for Chemistry Awards

The Canadian Society for Chemistry confers awards to recognize professionals and students who have made outstanding contributions to the chemical sciences. Most CSC award winners receive their awards and present award lectures at the annual Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition.

Nominations for CSC Awards are now accepted electronically through ScholarOne.

Consult the CSC Awards Handbook for:

  • Complete Terms of Reference
  • Eligibility Criteria
  • Lists of Past Winners for all CSC Awards
  • Submission Deadlines: the deadline for most CSC Awards is July 2 of each year. (Note: If July 2 falls on a weekend, the deadline will be the next working day)


Meet the CSC Award Winners

Bernard Belleau Award
David Vocadlo, Simon Fraser University

Fred Beamish Award
No winner

John C. Polanyi Award
Albert Stolow, University of Ottawa and National Research Council Canada

R. U. Lemieux Award
Hanadi Sleiman, McGill University

Ricardo Aroca Award
Lars Konermann, The University of Western Ontario

Rio Tinto Alcan Award
Jillian Buriak, University of Alberta

Tom Ziegler Award
Erin Johnson, Dalhousie University

W.A.E. McBryde Medal
Juewen Liu, University of Waterloo