2017-2018 Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC) Board of Directors Call for Nominations

The CIC passed its By-laws in May 2013 to meet the requirements for the new Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act. Under the Act, elections are for directors to the Board. At their first meeting upon election, the directors will be appointed as officers or directors. If elected, the positions specified below will be assigned to these candidates at the first meeting of this Board,

The appointed Nominating Committee has proposed the candidates listed below for election to the Board of Directors in 2017–2018. Further nominations for any position may be made in writing by any voting Members of the Corporation: each nomination must be accompanied by the candidate’s written agreement to serve if elected, a curriculum vitae and a recent photograph. The deadline for receipt of additional nominations is Monday, April 29, 2017. Nominations should be sent to CIC National Office. If any elections are required, members will be notified. Those elected, whether by ballot or acclamation, will take office immediately following the annual general meeting of the Institute on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 in Toronto, Ont.

Milena Sejnoha

Milena Sejnoha, MCIC
Chair 2017–2018
National Research Council

Milena Sejnoha, MCIC, graduated from McGill University in Montréal, QC, from the department of chemical engineering with a BEng in 1983, and a MEng in thermodynamics in 1986. She is presently director, research and development of Materials and Processes at the National Research Council, serving the automotive, aerospace, defense and construction sectors. She has thirty years of experience in industry and government in management, research & development, technology commercialization, and policy development. Negotiation and management of international S&T collaborations. Previously she worked at QIT Fer et Titane as a research engineer and as a project development supervisor developing new products and managing pilot plants, and at CANMET Energy where she was head of the process engineering section in charge of developing, licensing, and deploying new industrial drying and reactor technologies. Sejnoha also held the position of manager of Climate Change Technology Development Group at Natural Resources Canada and was responsible for developing and managing S&T delivery programs for climate change mitigation. She subsequently became Director of Energy Technology Policy where she developed information on Canada’s energy technology innovation capacity. She became the Director of Energy Science and Technology Programs providing funding to federal laboratories and Canadian industry to develop innovative and cleaner energy technologies.

She was president of the CSChE in 2007 and a member of the organizing committee for the 50th Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference in Montréal in 2000.

Neil Burford

Neil Burford, FCIC
Chair 2017–2018
University of Victoria

Neil Burford obtained a BSc honours from the University of Wales, Cardiff and a PhD from the University of Calgary. Following his post-doctoral studies at the University of Alberta and at the University of New Brunswick, he was appointed assistant professor of chemistry at Dalhousie University in 1987, Harry Shirreff Professor of Chemical Research in 2000 and Canada Research Chair Tier I in 2001. Burford was appointed chair of the Department at Dalhousie University in 2008 and in 2011, he moved to the University of Victoria as professor and chair of the Department. He has served as the chair of the CSC inorganic chemistry division, as CSC director of subject divisions and as CSC president and is currently the chair of the Canadian National Committee on IUPAC (CNC/IUPAC).

Andrew Hrymak

Andrew N. Hrymak, FCIC
Past Chair 2017–2018
University of Western Ontario

Andrew Hrymak is dean of engineering and professor of chemical and biochemical engineering at the  University of Western Ontario.  Previously, he served in the Department of Chemical Engineering at McMaster University from 1985–2009 where he was professor and department chair (2000–2009), director of the McMaster Manufacturing Research Institute and director of the Walter G. Booth School of Engineering Practice. Visiting professor positions include: Xerox Research Centre of Canada, UMIST Materials Science Centre and the Université Lyon – Claude Bernard. His research interests include modeling, design and optimization of materials processing systems, in particular mixing, polymer processing, liquid coating flows, and complex rheology.

Leadership positions in professional organizations include: chair of the Computing and Systems Technology Division of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, chair of the Association of Canadian Chairs of Chemical Engineering, chair of the 1999 Gordon Research Conference on Computer-aided Engineering in Polymer Processing, and co-chair of the 2003 Annual Meeting of the Canadian Society of Chemical Engineering.  He served as Editor of Computers and Chemical Engineering and is currently Editor-in-Chief of International Polymer Processing. He served as the President of the International Society of Coating Science and Technology (ISCST) from 2012–2014 and is currently the deputy director of the Fraunhofer Project Centre at Western. He serves on the Fellowship Committee of the CIC.

Hrymak is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and the Chemical Institute of Canada. He won the Excellence in Process Development Research Award by the Process Development Division AIChE.

Hugh Horton

Hugh Horton, MCIC
Treasurer 2017-2018
Queen’s University

Hugh Horton is currently Interim Vice-Dean in the Faculty of Arts and Science, Queen’s University.  He holds a BSc from York University and a PhD from the University of Cambridge where he was a Commonwealth Scholar. He subsequently held an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Western Ontario and was a Commonwealth Fellow at the University of St. Andrews in 2006.  He has been a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at Queen's since 1997, and full professor since 2012. He is an active member of the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC), serving as Treasurer from 2013–2017, is one of the CSC’s representatives on the Pacifichem Organizing Committee, and was previously the CSC’s Director of Accreditation for undergraduate chemistry programs.  His research interests include the development of scanning probe microscope techniques for the measurement of nanoscale forces and exploring the formation of self-assembled monolayers based on N-heterocyclic carbenes.

Directors representing the Societies include:

  • Kim Baines, FCIC, Canadian Society for Chemistry
  • Uttandaraman Sundararaj, MCIC, Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering until October 24, 2017
  • Donna Jean Kilpatrick, MCIC, Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering as of October 24, 2017
  • Donald Barclay, MCIC, Canadian Society for Chemical Technology