Keith Fagnou Award

Sponsored by the University of Ottawa and the Organic Chemistry Division, the Keith Fagnou Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to organic chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have received their Ph.D. no more than 12 years prior at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Keith Fagnou Award is:

Mark Taylor
University of Toronto

Mark Taylor received his BSc in chemistry in 2000 from the University of Toronto, where he worked in the research group of Mark Lautens. He pursued graduate studies at Harvard University from 2000–2005 under the supervision of Eric Jacobsen. After completing his PhD, Taylor remained in Cambridge carrying out postdoctoral research at MIT with Tim Swager. In 2007, he returned to the Department of Chemistry at the University of Toronto, where he is an associate professor and Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Molecular Recognition and Catalysis. His research interests span the areas of organic synthesis, catalysis, molecular recognition, and polymer chemistry. 

Past Winners

Jean-François Paquin
Université Laval

Derek Pratt, University of Ottawa
Presented by Louis Barriault, Treasurer, Organic Chemistry Division (right)