Rio Tinto Alcan Award

Sponsored by Rio Tinto Alcan, the Rio Tinto Alcan Award is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the fields of inorganic chemistry or electrochemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2018 winner of the Rio Tinto Alcan Award is:

Jillian Buriak
University of Alberta


Past Winners

Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz
University of Toronto at Scarborough

Michael Wolf, FCIC
University of British Columbia

Steven Holdcroft, Simon Fraser University
Presented by Youla Tsantrizos, CSC President (right)

Martin Stillman
University of Western Ontario

Pierre Harvey
Université de Sherbrooke