Ricardo Aroca Award

Formerly the Maxxam Award

Sponsored by the University of Windsor, the Ricardo Aroca Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of analytical chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Ricardo Aroca Award is:

Diane Beauchemin
Queen's University

Diane Beauchemin obtained her BSc and PhD degrees from l’Université de Montréal in 1980 and 1984 respectively. She then became a research associate at the then Chemistry Division of the National Research Council of Canada working on the first commercial ICPMS (inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry) instrument that was installed in Canada. In 1988, she moved to Queen’s University as an assistant professor and progressed through the ranks to become full professor in 2000. Her research is focused on the fundamentals and applications of ICP spectrometry (both optical emission and mass spectrometry). The fundamental work is aimed at overcoming the remaining limitations of these techniques.  The application work is broad, including the development of new forensic analysis techniques, the risk assessment of food safety and the characterization of materials used in fuel cells. This latter research area includes the measurement of nanoparticles of catalysts in electrolytes by single particle ICPMS.

Past Winners

Michael A. Quilliam, FCIC
National Research Council Canada

David D. Y. Chen, University of British Columbia
Presented by Taras Obal, Director, Scientific Services and Development, Maxxam Analytics (left)

Sergey Krylov
York University