Montréal Medal/Médaille de Montréal

Sponsored by the CIC, the Montréal Medal/Médaille de Montréal is presented as a mark of distinction and honour to a resident of Canada for an outstanding contribution to the profession of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Montréal Medal/Médaille de Montréal is:

Neil Burford, FCIC
University of Victoria

Neil Burford obtained a BSc honours from the University of Wales, Cardiff and a PhD from the University of Calgary. Following his post-doctoral studies at the University of Alberta and at the University of New Brunswick, he was appointed assistant professor of chemistry at Dalhousie University in 1987, Harry Shirreff Professor of Chemical Research in 2000 and Canada Research Chair Tier I in 2001. Burford was appointed chair of the Department at Dalhousie University in 2008 and in 2011, he moved to the University of Victoria as professor and chair of the Department. He has served as the chair of the CSC inorganic chemistry division, as CSC director of subject divisions and as CSC president and is currently the chair of the Canadian National Committee on IUPAC (CNC/IUPAC).

Past Winners

Kim M. Baines, FCIC
Western University

B. Mario Pinto
Simon Fraser University

Robert Prud’homme
Université de Montréal