Local Sections

The Local Sections of the CIC bring together individuals who live, work or study in the same region and who share an interest in the chemical sciences and engineering, in order to encourage productive sharing of ideas. Local Sections provide opportunities for members to get involved locally by attending lectures, touring industrial plant facilities, providing mentorship and taking part in social and networking events.

Members are automatically assigned to a Local Section of chemical scientists and engineers in their geographic area. (In some regions where there is a high concentration of chemical engineers, there is a CSChE Local Section as well as a CIC Local Section.) Simply fill out your application for membership in one of the Constituent Societies of the CIC and you will be assigned a Local Section based on your home address. You will be informed of the events, activities and news of your Local Section via e-mail.

Contact your Local Section:

Calgary CIC
Belinda Heyne
Chair of the Calgary CIC Local Section
University of Calgary
403-220-3887
calgarylocalsectioncsc@gmail.com

Deep River CIC 
Dave Guzonas
Chair of the Deep River CIC Local Section
Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd.
guzonasd@aecl.ca

Edmonton CIC
Twitter
Edmonton CIC Local Section
University of Alberta
info@cicedmonton.org

Edmonton CSChE
Phillip Choi
Chair of the Edmonton CSChE Local Section
University of Alberta
780-492-9018
Phillip.Choi@UAlberta.ca

Essex-Kent CIC
Philip Dutton
Chair of the Essex-Kent CIC Local Section
University of Windsor
519-253-3000 ext. 5028
dutton@uwindsor.ca

Estrie Monterégie CSChE
Gervais Soucy
Chair of the Estrie Monterégie CSChE Local Section
Université de Sherbrooke
819-821-7955
gervais.soucy@usherbrooke.ca

Hamilton CIC
Don Barclay
Chair of the Hamilton CIC Local Section
905-525-3018
info@dbc.net

Hawkesbury CIC
Brent Ball
Chair of the Hawkesbury CIC Local Section
Orica Canada Inc.
K1P 6E2
450-535-1268
brent.ball@orica.com
or
D.B. Mutton
Secretary and Past Chair of the Hawkesbury CIC Local Section
613-632-3331
dmutton@hawk.igs.net

Kingston CIC
This Local Section is presently dormant. To find out more, contact info@cheminst.ca.

Manitoba and N.W. Ontario CIC
James Xidos
Manitoba and N.W. Ontario CIC Local Section
University of Manitoba
204-474-6078
xidos@cc.umanitoba.ca

Maritime CIC
Stephanie MacQuarrie
Chair of the Maritime Local Section
Cape Breton University
stephanie_macquarrie@cbu.ca

Montréal CIC
Twitter
Laura Pavelka
Chair of the Montreal Local Section
McGill University
514-398-7276
laura.pavelka@mcgill.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador CIC
Chris Kozak
Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador CIC Local Section
Memorial University
709-737-8082
ckozak@mun.ca

North Saskatchewan CIC
Richard Evitts
Chair of the North Saskatchewan CIC Local Section
University of Saskatchewan
306-966-4766
richard.evitts@usask.ca

Ottawa CIC
Jeffrey Manthorpe
Chair of the Ottawa CIC Local Section
Carleton University
613-520-2600, ext. 1711
jeffrey_manthorpe@carleton.ca

Peterborough CIC
Andrew Vreugdenhil
Chair of the Peterborough CIC Local Section
Trent University
705-748-1011, ext. 7467
a.vreugdenhil@trentu.ca

Québec CIC
Josée Brisson
Chair of the Québec CIC Local Section
Université Laval
418-656-3536
josee.brisson@chm.ulaval.ca

Saguenay CIC
Denis Bussières
Chair of the Saguenay CIC Local Section
Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
418-545-5011 ext. 5074
denis_bussieres@uqac.ca

Sarnia CIC
Bryce McGarvey
Chair of the Sarnia CIC Local Section
Imperial Oil
519-339-5688
bryce.mcgarvey@esso.ca

Sherbrooke CIC
Yue Zhao
Sherbrooke CIC Local Section
Université de Sherbrooke
819-821-7090
yue.zhao@usherbrooke.ca

South Saskatchewan CIC
Stephen Cheng
Chair of the South Saskatchewan CIC Local Section
University of Regina
306-337-3290
stephen.cheng@uregina.ca

Southeastern British Columbia CIC
Gino DiLabio
Chair of the Southeastern British Columbia CIC Local Section
University of British Columbia Okanagan
250-807-8617
Gino.DiLabio@ubc.ca

Sudbury CIC
Ken Westaway
Chair of the Sudbury CIC Local Section
Laurentian University
705-675-1151 ext. 2105
kwestawa@nickel.laurentian.ca

Toronto CIC
Twitter
Samantha Smith
Chair of the Toronto CIC Local Section
226-972-1673
chair@cictor.ca

Vancouver CIC
John Canal
Chair of the Vancouver CIC Local Section
Simon Fraser University
778-782-7661
jcanal@sfu.ca

Vancouver Island CIC
Daniel Donnecke
Chair of the Vancouver Island CIC Local Section
Camosun College
250-370-3550
DonneckeD@camosun.bc.ca