Purvis Memorial Award

Presented for major contribution to development and implementation of strategies, which have resulted in the strengthening of Canadian industry or academic or research institutions in the field of chemistry.

Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2016 winner of the Purvis Memorial Award is:

Vicky Sharpe, Sustainable Development Technology Canada (SDTC)
Presented by Lorenzo Ferrari, CIC/SCI Canada Chair (left)

Vicky Sharpe is a strategic advisor to the Sustainable Development Technology Canada, whose mission is to build a sustainable development technology infrastructure in Canada.  She was the first employee and founding President and CEO for 13 years.

Throughout her career, Sharpe has successfully integrated sustainable development into business practices. She built an internationally renowned global cleantech fund increasing public funding from $100M in 2001 to over $1.4B in 2014 and mobilized private sector capital for project funding and commercialization financing of $4.3B.

As President of GRI Canada and Astral Group, she demonstrated leadership and vision in the use of innovative technologies across Canada’s primary economic sectors. Sharpe also served as vice president of Ontario Hydro International Inc., creating new global revenue streams for environmental and energy utilization practices.

Sharpe has served on numerous technology and industry association committees, in particular as an international advisor on sustainability issues; has represented the Canadian energy sector at the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Forum; and has chaired both the National Advisory Board on Energy, Science and Technology.  She is a Director at QUEST (Quality Urban Energy Systems of Tomorrow, a senior fellow of the International Institute for Sustainable Development and Director of the Alberta Enterprise Corporation.

Past Winners

Duke du Plessis, Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions (AI-EES)
Presented by David Beckman, CIC/SCI Canada Chair (right)

Robert Graham
Chairman and CEO, Ensyn Corporation

Jon Hantho
Maxxam Analytics