LeSueur Memorial Award

The 2017 winner of the LeSueur Memorial Award is:

Ravi Gukathasan
Digital Specialty Chemicals

Ravi Gukathasan is CEO and founder of Digital Specialty Chemicals which was started in 1987. Starting out with only 2 employees, DSC is now an ISO9001 & 14001 registered company with a modern manufacturing facility, more than 60 employees and annual sales in excess of $20 million. Gukathasan’s expertise and passion focuses on developing new specialty chemical products.

Digital Specialty Chemicals is the sole producer in Canada of the unique oregano-metallic compounds used in semi-conductor fabrication. These chemicals help make the chips that power our phones, devices and computers. Other products are used in the pharmaceuticals sector.

Gukathasan received both his BSc and has a PhD in organo-metallic compounds from University of Toronto.

Past Winners

Hamdy Khalil, Woodbridge Foam Corp.
Presented by Lorenzo Ferrari, CIC/SCI Canada Chair (left)

D. Grant Allen
Chair, University of Toronto. Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Janusz Pawliszyn
University of Waterloo