New Federation of Canada’s Professional Chemists (FCPC)

June 24, 2014

The provincial chemistry associations of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec and Nova Scotia launched a new Federation of Canada’s Professional Chemists (FCPC) in Vancouver on Sunday, June 1. 2014. The role of the provincial bodies is primarily to deal with existing and pending provincial legislation and regulations and to make sure that their individual provincial members meet the professional chemistry qualifications that provincial governments expect.

The CSC board has worked closely with the provincial chemistry associations over the past decade to raise the profession of chemist profile. The new FCPC Council will have up to three CSC members; these CSC members will not carry a vote. The FCPC will have one non-voting member on the CSC Board of Directors.

The CSC and FCPC signed a Mutual Recognition Agreement on June 2, 2014 in Vancouver during the 97th Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition. This will help set a new beginning in which both national organizations seek to promote the profession of chemist for the betterment of Canadian society.